top of page

Lilly Kaighin Award

In October of 1999, Lilly Kaighin’s family executed a Deed of Gift and Trust Agreement providing a perpetual trophy in the memory of Lilly Kaighin, a past president of FWSA.


She was also a past member of several FWSA clubs and a founding member of two clubs: the Dinghy Dames of DIYC and the Luffing Lassies of Sarasota Sailing Squadron.


This trophy is to be awarded to a member (deserving of recognition) for exemplifying any of the following qualities: leadership, motivation, organization, involvement, good sportsmanship, or contributing to the social aspect of sailing for either the FWSA or a member club.

Nomination forms for the trophy are available at the January FWSA meeting.  Completed forms are to be returned to the President one month before the annual meeting in May. The FWSA Executive Board will select the recipient and award the trophy at the annual meeting.


The recipient will hold the trophy for one year and then return it to the FWSA. She will receive a keeper memento with her name and the year she received the Lilly Kaighin award.


2023 Lilly Kaighin Recipient

Margo Currey


bottom of page