Spirit Awards

The Spirit Awards were established to promote sailing and to encourage fun and competition among FWSA clubs.  The criteria define scoring of interclub events for both of the Spirit Awards - Prams and Sunfish.  An interclub event is a regatta involving two or more FWSA member teams that compete during the sailing season.

Retired in 2021

Lilly Kaighin Trophy

The Lilly Kaighin award is a perpetual trophy in memory of Lilly Kaighin a past FWSA President, a past member of many FWSA clubs, and a founding member of the Dinghy Dames and the Luffing Lassies.

The trophy is to be awarded to the person that exemplifies, through her membership with either the FWSA or any one of the FWSA member clubs, any of the following qualities:  leadership, motivation, organization, involvement, good sportsmanship, or contribution to the social aspects of sailing.


Young Woman Sailor of the Year Award

First established in 2008 to promote and support the sport of sailing, the Young Woman Sailor of the Year Award is awarded to a female resident of Florida with no age limit.  She should be dedicated to training to compete in the world of sailboat racing.

Nomination forms are to be returned one month prior to the FWSA annual May meeting.